List Of Canada Prime Ministers And Their Role In The Government

Interested in government? Do you have a future in politics? Then this article is for you.

Below is a list of Canada Prime Ministers listed in chronological order. In addition to this, we have also added their role in the government.

  • Sir John Alexander Macdonald (1867-1873 1st time; 1878-1891 2nd time): Sir John Macdonald was born on January 11, 1815. He was the first Prime Minister of the Dominion of Canada and led the country successfully through a rapid period of growth. He worked very hard to promote the British American League in order to establish a relationship between Great Britain and Canada.
  • Alexander Mackenzie (1873-1878): Alexander Mackenzie was the first liberal Prime Minister of Canada. He supported the confederation movement and after being elected by Lambton, he led the liberal opposition.
  • Sir John Abbott (1891-1892): Sir John Abbott was Queen’s Counsel in 1862. He served in the government of Louis Sicotte before going to the conservatives.
  • Sir John Thompson (1892-1894): Thompson joined politics in 1877, and after being elected, he defended the government in politico-religious controversies.
  • Sir Mackenzie Bowell (1894-1896): After being elected to the Canadian House of Commons in 1867, Bowell became Cabinet Minister in three governments (militia, trade and commerce and customs.) He became Prime Minister and established his own government in 1894.
  • Sir Charles Tupper 1st Baronet (1896): Baronet worked very hard to make Nova Scotia a province of Canada. He also served in Sir John Macdonald’s conservative cabinet.
  • Sir Wilfrid Laurier (1896-1911): Laurier played a very important role in Canadian unity. He was a member of Institut Canadien. He also wrote several articles for radical newspapers.
  • Sir Robert Laird Borden (1911-1920): Borden was a teacher, but his teaching career ended in 1874. He came into politics with a victory of the liberal political party, which was led by Sir Wilfred Laurier.
  • Arthur Meighen (1920-1921 1st time; 1926 2nd time): Meighen was elected in 1908 from Manitoba. Later, he became Minister of Interior, and after that he effectively implemented several controversial policies.
  • W.L. Mackenzie King (1921-1926 1st time; 1926-30 2nd time; 1935-1948 3rd time): Mackenzie became the leader of the liberal party after the death of Laurier. His positive attributes included his determining voice that secured the status of Canada, which were self-governing.
  • Richard Bedford Bennett (1930-1935): Bennett served in the legislative assemblies of Alberta. After that, he became Director-General of National Service.
  • Louis Saint Laurent (1948-1957): Laurent was a member of the liberal party. King made him Minister of Justice and later he was appointed as Attorney General.
  • John G. Diefenbaker (1957-1963): Diefenbaker served in World War I, and later he was elected to the House of Commons for the constituency.
  • Lester B. Pearson (1963-1968): Pearson served as ambassador in the United States.
  • Pierre Elliott Trudeau (1968-1979 1st time; 1980-1984 2nd time): Trudeau served in the Privy Council as a desk officer for three years.
  • Joe Clark (1979-1980): Clark served as the conservative leader in the Canadian House of Commons.
  • John N. Turner (1984): Turner was a liberal party member and he was elected to the House of Commons in 1962.
  • Brian Mulroney (1984-1993): Mulroney played a very important role in the development of Canada. During his time, economic condition was very good and job creation was at its best.
  • Kim Campbell (1993): Campbell was an attorney general and he was appointed as the Minister for Indian Affairs in 1989.
  • Jean Chretien (1993-2003): Chretien was a minister of National Revenue and he was the first French Canadian who held this position.
  • Paul Martin (2003-2006): Martin was appointed for the Minister of Finance and he secured the largest tax cut in Canadian history.
  • Stephen Harper (2006-2015): Harper was elected in the Canadian House of Commons in 1993 from the Calgary West. He became the leader of Canadian Alliance in 2002.
  • Justin Trudeau (2015- present): Trudeau who acted as party spokesman on multiculturalism and youth is the presently Prime Minister of Canada.

The Canadian government has a rich history that is worth exploring. But all is not perfect, it never is. Especially when it comes to politics. No matter your country, it is easy to make political jokes when it seems like politicians, like prime ministers, are doing a bad job. 

But sometimes our perceptions are off because we don’t entirely understand what their jobs entail. So don’t stop here, keep reading more resources on this site, and visit a library or book retailer to continue learning about how Canada operates!