Executive Branch Canada: How They Pass Laws

The Canadian Parliament is one of the many parts of the Canadian government. The different parts of this executive branch come together to help it run in a smooth fashion.

There are two branches of the Canadian Parliament, the legislative branch and the executive branch. The legislative branch is responsible for making the laws, and the executive branch is responsible for implementing those laws. The Monarch, the Senate, and the House of Commons fall under the category of the Legislative Branch. And, the Crown, Prime Minister, and the Cabinet fall under the category of the Executive Branch.

The Governor-General represents the Head of State. The Prime Minister is the Head of State. The Cabinet is formed by the Ministers that are chosen by the Prime Minister. The rules and the laws that are formulated by the Legislative Brand, the ones that are important for the wellbeing of Canadians, and are voted in by this branch of the Canadian government. 

The Prime Minister is also responsible for appointing the Ministers of State so that they can assist the Cabinet Ministers individually. The members of the parliament that have been elected are generally appointed to the Cabinet; however, according to custom, the Prime Minister also appoints one Senator to the Cabinet. 

The Prime Minister has the authority to request the Ministers to resign or replace them anytime. The Prime Minister also has the authority of readjusting the size of the Cabinet; the way they feel is best for the country.

The Cabinet is the central authoritative forum that is responsible for making all the main decisions regarding the government of Canada. It is what redirects the activities of the Executive part of the government. This is the part of the Privy Council that functions effectively. The Privy Council is the council of advisors for The Crown, and it includes people like the previous Prime ministers, previous ministers, and other people who were working for special reasons. 

Once the privy councilors are a member of the cabinet, they behave as active advisors to the Crown. The cabinet issues bills that turn the existing policies into law. 

It is the duty of the Prime Minister to assign a certain area of work, that is, the portfolio, to each Minister. The job of the Minister is to see every department that is operating in his area. Ministers are to ensure that all departments that fall under their supervision are functioning smoothly.

The members of a Cabinet hold office only as long as the Prime Minister who appointed them does. Thus it exists from when the Prime Minister takes oath until the last day of his office. As soon as the new Prime Minister is elected, he is to appoint new Cabinet members.